Mornington Peninsula Shire and National Trust of Australia (Victoria) are proud to open the 2021 Mornington Peninsula Heritage Awards. These awards recognise those in our community who have demonstrated excellence in preservation, restoration, enhancement, interpretation and reuse of our heritage places.

Our heritage includes public and private places, buildings, gardens and objects. Heritage places are an integral part of the Mornington Peninsula community and the Heritage Awards highlight our commitment to celebrate and promote our heritage.

The aim of the awards is to recognise excellence in heritage conservation and to encourage community awareness of our heritage. The awards are open to domestic and commercial projects, from both government and non-government sectors.

Award nominations are sought in each category for any place with demonstrable heritage significance or in a protected heritage area. For example, included in a Heritage Overlay, the Victorian Heritage Register, included in local heritage study, or classified by the National Trust.

1. Creative Reuse of a Heritage Place

The objective of this award is to encourage adaptive reuse of a heritage place. Adaptive reuse is a process that changes a disused or redundant place to a different purpose. Nominations will be considered that demonstrate adaptive reuse of a heritage place having minimal impact on its significance and setting.

2. Restoration of a Heritage Place

The objective of this award is to recognise best practice restoration work that returns fabric back to a known earlier state or conserves integrity. Nominations will be considered that demonstrate application of the Burra Charter including Built form, Landscape, Wetlands, Cemeteries, Monuments or Heritage Gardens.

3. Specialist Heritage Trade Skills

The objective of this award is to recognise tradespersons who work using specialist skills, traditional methods and craftsmanship to a very high standard. Nominations will be considered that demonstrate excellence in traditional trades by any individual or company

4. Excellence in Interpretive Signage

The objective of this award is to recognise Interpretive Signage of a high quality that acknowledges a person or place that has contributed to the Heritage of the Mornington Peninsula.

5. Sustainability and/or greening of a heritage place

The objective of this award is to increase awareness of the contribution to the environmental sustainability of heritage places. Nominations will be considered for works that demonstrate a range of practices that result in positive impacts.


The judging panel will be a Heritage Officer from the Mornington Peninsula Shire, a member of the National Trust conservation team and a Mornington Peninsula branch representative. The judging process will take place after all the nominations have been received. An inspection of shortlisted properties will take place on November 2021.

Awards presentation

The awards presentation was unable to be held this year due to covid lockdowns. Instead the winning owners and tradespersons were presented with their award when inspections were made in November 2021. The interviews will be compiled into a film to be uploaded onto this website in the new year.

Assessment criteria

Generally, the assessment criteria should allow the judging panel to determine whether the nominated works successfully demonstrate the principles contained in the Burra Charter and/or local heritage guidelines or policy.

1. The nominated place must be located within the boundaries of the Mornington Peninsula Shire. Anyone may nominate a place, however, the owner’s approval must be sought and given on the nomination form.

2. Short-listed properties must be available for inspection by the judging panel on a designated date. Owners of short-listed properties will be contacted by phone or email to arrange a suitable inspection time.

3. Each nominated building or work in each category must have an individual nomination form.

4. Each nomination remains the property of the Mornington Peninsula Shire and National Trust of Australia (Vic).

5. The National Trust of Australia (Vic) and Mornington Peninsula Shire reserve the right to exhibit the nominations and include winners’ details on websites and via social media. The judges reserve the right not to present an award in any particular category.

6. Mornington Peninsula Shire and National Trust of Australia (Vic) shall take no responsibility for the content of the nomination submissions. It is the responsibility of those nominating projects to ensure that all care has been taken to identify and acknowledge the contribution and work of all relevant parties.