Being age-friendly means valuing the contribution older people make to our community, working together to reduce ageism and encouraging respect and inclusion of older people across our Peninsula.

These awards continue to remember their namesake Delys Sargeant OAM who was a driving force behind creating better opportunities and support for older community members on the Mornington Peninsula. If you know of something or someone who contributes to building a stronger age-friendly local community, then nominate them for an award.

Nomination categories include:

  • Senior Achiever Award
    Do you know a person aged 50+ who has made a significant contribution to our local community? One special person will also be awarded Mayor’s Elder of the Year Award.
  • PACE Community Award
    Does your local community organisation or club offer an innovative and age-friendly program? Do you work with someone who encourages diversity and inclusive opportunities? Perhaps a local business goes over and above to help you? Let us know about them!
  • Intergenerational Award
    We can all learn from each other at any age so nominate your favourite individual, group, business, or service who has created projects or activities that bring people of all ages together.

Winners of the 2022 Mornington Peninsula Shire Delys Sargeant Age Friendly Awards

Seniors in our community have once again shown they've no plans of slowing down when the winners of our annual Delys Sargeant Age-Friendly Awards were announced at Council on Tuesday 21 February 2023.

The awards recognise individuals, clubs, services or businesses contributing to building a stronger community for older people on our Peninsula.

With over 31 per cent of people aged 60 and over living on the Peninsula, it’s important to have an age-friendly place to call our home.

Our winners certainly empower older people to live, work and contribute to our lifestyle of the Peninsula.

The 2022 winners of the Mornington Peninsula Delys Sargeant Age-Friendly Award are:

Senior Achiever: John (Jack) Milledge

Jack was nominated in recognition of working tirelessly for his community for over 50 years

He has been involved in the Lions Club of Dromana, Rosebud and McCrae, and the Rosebud RSL, as well as working to raise funds for children with disability.

Senior Achiever: Billy Nye

Billy is a local Mornington Peninsula artist. She is an active volunteer at Oak Hill Gallery teaching several classes across the week to a broad range of people from school children to older people.

Billy has bipolar and advocates for others who experience mental health conditions and works with NDIS participants at Oak Hill Gallery.

Senior Achiever and PACE Community Award: Jacqui Beddows

Jacqui suffered a stroke and aneurysm in 2011. Jacqui understood firsthand the social isolation and loneliness occurring when language becomes impaired.

Showing great determination and initiative, Jacqui established two innovative, age friendly and inclusive community programs at Seawinds Community Hub: Singing for Wellness in 2015 and Art for Wellness in 2019.

These programs cater to people with a wide range of communication issues, including people recovering from stroke, living with acquired brain injury, parkinson’s, aphasia and dementia.

Support workers, families and carers regularly comment on the impact of Jacqui’s programs, particularly the laughter, friendships and the improvement in participants’ confidence and ability to communicate.

PACE Community Award and Intergenerational Award: Oak Hill Gallery

Oak Hill Gallery is a place for artists and the community to come together to enjoy art, celebrate and acquire new skills.

The Gallery runs after school classes and school holiday programs for children, with many of these being run by retired teachers and artists. The teachers also enjoy learning new skills from their young students.

The Gallery also has regular visits from residents at Mecwacare Park Hill aged care home in Mornington, and hosts free BBQs, exhibitions and workshops for the community.

The winners will be presented with their awards in person at a Civic event in early May 2023 to give them the public recognition they deserve.

Previous Delys Sargeant Age-Friendly Awards Winners

Mayor’s Senior Achiever Award

Elder of the Year

  • Lorenzo ‘Laurie’ D’Alia

Senior Achiever

  • Meredith Studdert
  • Janet South
  • Lynda ‘Lou’ Howard

PACE Age-Friendly Community Award

    Age-friendly community service or program

    • Peninsula Writers Club
    • Hastings Community House
    • University of the Third Age, Southern Peninsula

    Innovative club for older people

    • University of the Third Age, Mornington
    • Mount Eliza Neighbourhood House Inc.

    Encouraging diversity and inclusive opportunities for older people

    • Lorenzo ‘Laurie’ D’Alia

    Age-friendly local business

    • Naomi Bailey - Rosebud CPAP (Continuous Positive Airway Pressure) Services

    Promotion of Intergenerational Opportunities Award

    • Mount Martha Yacht Club
    • Peninsula Obedience Dog Club
    • Peninsula Writers Club
    • Southern Peninsula Choir

    Mayor's Senior Achiever Award

    • Elder of the Year - Terry Phippen
    • Senior Achiever - Tony Clarke

    PACE Age-Friendly Communities Award

    • Individual - Meredith Studdert
    • Group - Blairgowrie Community Garden
    • Arts & Culture - Mornington Peninsula Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society (ADFAS)
    • Individual/Local Business - Mina Tawadros, Bittern Pharmacy
    • Innovative Club - Hastings U3A
    • Community Service and Encouraging Indigenous/Multicultural Opportunities - Southern Women's Action Network (SWAN)

    Promotion of Intergenerational Opportunities Award

    • Group - Point Nepean Men's Shed Association
    • Group - New Peninsula Men's Shed

    Download: 2019 Brochure